Holy Orders

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate (the bishops), presbyterate (the priests), and diaconate (the deacons).

For more information on the Sacrament of Holy Orders - read the Catechism of the Catholic Church Article 6 online.